Possible Upcoming Race

So as I mentioned in an earlier post, now that I’m done with the Disney Princess 5K, I’m looking for a new race.  I started a 10K training program last week, so I thought, why not look for a 10K race in May some time?  That’s exactly what I did.

On May 20th there is a 10K race in Ypsilanti, MI. It’s the Girls on the Run 5K/10K race.  Girls on the Run is a program that encourages young girls to develop healthy lifestyles and self-respect through running. They focus on all aspects of girls’ development – their physical, emotional, mental, social and spiritual well-being. Their “mission is to inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running.”

I loved what the program inspires and it will be another race for me to do.  Plus, I don’t have to fly to Florida of this one, haha.  I also like that the run focuses on a specific program and that the program is designed to promote healthy life styles.

As of right now I have not committed to it.  After all, I don’t know what I’m doing in May yet, but at least I have something to work for and keep me motivated these next couple of months!  Also, check out the events page.  I will be listing all the races I’m planning on doing and have done there.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. There’s a 10k April 22 in Lansing where Dave and I are running our half marathon!!! 🙂

    1. mlavens says:

      Well with my ankle, I’m not 100% sure I’ll be ready to run 6 miles by then, but we’ll see how the next week goes. Maybe I’ll come with you guys. =)

Leave a Reply

