Walking with Mom

on

So back in January I got my mom to agree to do the Royal Family 5K with me.  She’s not much of a runner, but she’s a really fast walker, so I knew she could do it.  Well, now I’m trying to convince her to do the Wine & Dine Half Marathon in November with me. A 16minute mile pace needs to be kept for the race, and she walks at about a 13minute mile pace.  She could totally do it.  I’m hoping I can get her to commit.

Anyways, today we went for a walk together.  It was a really nice day out so we walked around the lake in our neighborhood and back home.  It was just over the length of a 5K.  It was a lot of fun to go with her.  I wasn’t worried about running or anything.  We were having a great time chatting about everything and just enjoying each other’s company.  I’m thinking tomorrow I may go walking with her again before I drive back to school.  It was a nice change to go for a long walk instead of alway focusing on running.  Plus, I’m still training even if it’s at a slower pace than normal.  Can’t run fast all the time!

Leave a Reply

