Ouchie, Sun Burn

on

Yesterday I spent my afternoon at the pool.  Some how I managed to miss the top of each leg, kind of by my inner thigh when I applied sunscreen.  I got a little pink.  It wasn’t really bothering me…but then I went for a run.

My shorts were rubbing against it, so it was very unpleasant.  I cut my 3 mile run short, and stopped after 2.25 miles.  I really thought I could make it the last .75 miles, but I couldn’t take the pain anymore and had to stop.  Aloe has been my best friend today.

Speaking of best friends, I met with my best friend since 8th grade today…Mert!  Mert is a runner too.  She actually been my motivation a lot of the time.  She is currently training for a triathlon.  I’m amazed.  I don’t think I could ever do that.  I’m not a very good swimmer.  She was telling me that the swimming has been the hardest part for her to train.  I can believe it!  Running and biking can be hard enough (in my opinion) so I don’t even want to toss swimming in the mix.  I don’t mind going for a swim every once in awhile, but I’m not going to be using swimming as a training method any time soon.

So Mert and I are running a 5K together.  That’s my next race actually.  I’m really excited to run with her…even though I’m sure she’ll be much faster than me.  She’s been running a lot longer!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. diary of a dashinista says:

    Oww, that sunburn sounds super painful. Perhaps longer seam free Lycra shorts would help until it heals?

    1. mlavens says:

      Thanks for the suggestion! Luckily, the burn has gone down a lot, so I think tomorrow I will be good as new!

      1. Glad to hear it, happy running! 🙂

Leave a Reply

