Running with my Bestie

River Days 5KYesterday was the Detroit River Days Festival 5K!  My best friend, Mert told me about it so I got to do the race with her and her boyfriend.  It was loads of fun.  Mert was excited because made her personal record during this race.  And, despite the heat, I finished in 32:11, just 1:04 slower than my personal record.  I was happy with it because it was a bit hotter out than I like to run in.  It was still fun and I enjoyed the run.

As you can see by the picture, we were a long the Detroit River, and it was so nice to run along there.  I really enjoyed the course of this race.  We started out on the River Days Festival Plaza then we ran down the street past the Renaissance Center, Cobo Hall, Joe Louis Arena (go Wings!) and back along the River to the Plaza.

For years I have been going to Detroit (usually for sporting events or concerts), but it was nice to do a run there, because I was able to see how nice Detroit has become. Yes, there is still work that need to be done, but there has been such a change since I was little.  Ten year ago I would have never thought to go downtown to run a race, but now I wouldn’t even hesitate to do it again!

Well…there was one downside from yesterday. Actually, two.  The first is that my Nike+ app didn’t track my run, so I have no record of it on my phone.  I was pretty upset because it was such a good run for me and I wanted it with my stats.  And I really wanted the map because it was an area I’ve never run before.  The second thing is that the River Days Festival didn’t start when we finished the race, so we didn’t end up going. Oh well! We had fun overall.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

