Off to a Great Start!

Today was the first day of my training program for my half marathon.  It went really well.  Todays run was a 30min run.  I ran 2.92miles in the 30mins.  That put me at a 10:15 per mile pace.  I was really happy with that.  It’s one of my better times.

I think what made this run better than some of my past ones is that I was focused on a time goal, not a distance one.  When I want to run a certain distance I try running fast for a long time, then take a break, then run again.  With the time goal, I didn’t do that.  I stayed at one pace for almost the whole run.  I took a couple little breaks.  They didn’t last longer than two minutes.  By the end of the run I was so surprised that I ran at the pace I did.  I was a little disappointed that I didn’t reach 3 miles because I was so close.  I thought about running the last little bit, but I reminded myself this was a timed run, and not to focus on the distance, so I let it go.

Overall, I would say my first day of training was successful. I’m really excited to see how the rest of it goes.  I hope it can continue to feel as good as it did today.

Leave a Reply

