Foam Rollers

Yesterday after my run, my hips were kind of sore, so I spent most of the day stretching them.  Well, they were still sore this morning, so I told my Pilates instructor that when I went to my session today.  She had me work with a foam roller to help it out.

I’ve never used one before.  Hard to believe, right?  Being so athletic for all these years, you think I’d come across it at some point, but nope.  So here’s how my first experience went…

IT HURT!  I was told it’s supposed to and that it’s really good for stretching out my IT Band (which was sore), but still.  I wasn’t expecting it to hurt so much.  My hips do feel better though.  They’re still a little sore, but not as bad.  My instructor recommended that I invest in one of these foam rollers because as I keep adding distance to my runs, I may have this issue with my hip again.  Always good to have a way to stretch it.  I just don’t want to do it again because it hurts.  Haha.  No pain, no gain…right?

Well tomorrow I’m hitting the gym again for another 30 minute run, so hopefully my hips feel okay!

Leave a Reply

