(Almost) Done with Week 1

on

Well tomorrow will be my last run of my first week of my half marathon training program.  So far, so good.

Monday started out with a 30 minute run that went really well.  All the details about that run can found on my previous post here.

Wednesday was my second run.  It was a 25 minute run.  It was pretty similar to Monday’s run.  I kept a good pace at 10:23 per mile and went 2.4 miles.  I was happy with it.  I felt good running, and seeing my pace was pretty consistent, it’s making me feel more confident.  When running without a training plan, I would have a variety of different paces between runs.  But, I think now that I know I have to keep a more consistent pace in order to train properly for the half marathon, I’ve been able to do that.  Plus, with the time focused runs, I can work on my pace more.  As I stated before, it’s hard for me to focus on pacing when I have a distance goal in mind, but the timed runs have shifted that.

Thursday was an “easy walk” day.  This is where things are a little different.  I get bored walking.  I started out walking, and I really tired to keep walking, but I couldn’t do it.  Every so often I had to run.  I still walked more than I ran, but I just couldn’t make myself walk the entire time.  I ended up with a 12:10 average pace and I went a total for 2.11 miles in 25:43.  I was okay with that because even though it wasn’t a walk like I was supposed to it, it was still at a lower pace than normal, so I was still taking a break.

Tomorrow is my first long distance run.  It’s only 3 miles, which I’ve done plenty of time, so I’m not worried about it.  It will be in a few of weeks when I have to run 6 or 7 miles that I might worry a bit.  Until then, I’m going strong!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Congrats on the progress! I’m a new runner, so reading blogs for inspiration! Good luck

    1. mlavens says:

      Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog! Good luck with the start of your running and training. =)

Leave a Reply

