Ugghh, the Heat!

on

I woke up late this morning, around 10am.  Which is fine when I decide to go to the nice air conditioned gym, but today I decided to run outside.  I checked the weather and it was only 74 degrees out, so I figured it wasn’t too bad.  Plus, the half marathon is going to be in Orlando, and even at 10pm, it will still be warm out.  I figured this would be good practice.

Well, I learned I really don’t like running in the heat.  By the time I got home it was in the 80’s.  Plus, I took more walking breaks than I normally would, which brought my pace down to 11:27 per mile.  Not terrible, but compared to my 9:56 pace on Monday, I was disappointed.

Although, this wasn’t my best run, it was good that I did it.  I would hate to have gotten my pace down to 9 mins or 9:30 per mile, then go out into the hot weather in Orlando and have a slower pace.  At least now I know, if it’s not, I’m not going to run my best, but I can still do it.  All part of the fun of training.

Leave a Reply

