Recap of Week 2

on

This was my second week of my Half Marathon Training Program.  It had it’s ups and downs, but overall, it was good.

Monday was my first run of the week.  It was a 30min run and I decided to wear my new Nike+ Free Run shoes.  They felt amazing and my run was amazing. I ran three miles in the time period and recorded my fastest mile time.  I was so happy about it and it was a great way to start out the week.

Wednesday was my second run, another 30min run.  Normally I do my 30min runs on the treadmill because once the clock hits 30mins I can hop off and be done.  I don’t have to worry about being far away from home when the 30mins is up.  But Wednesday, I decided I wanted to run outside.  I was pretty good with guessing the time.  I hit 30mins when I was half a block a way from the house.  I stopped then and walked the rest of the way back and considered that my cool down.  My run wasn’t as fast as Mondays.  I contribute it to the warm temperature and my Nike+ AirMax shoes.  I don’t think there’s a big difference between my two pairs of Nikes, but I can tell a difference when I’m running.  Whether that’s a factor in time difference, I can’t say, but I would think it does a little.

Thursday was supposed to be an easy walk day.  I was babysitting my cousins all day, so that never happened.  I planned on going for a walk on Friday, but instead, I sat on the stationary bike and watched the soaps.  At least I got a workout in, right?

Saturday was my 4 mile run.  I wanted to go in the morning, but that didn’t happen.  My parents went to a wedding that evening, so that was when I finally got my run in.  I hopped on the treadmill, and started running.  Then things got weird.  My sensor was acting weird.  It was telling me I was running a 5min mile, then jumped to 9min mile, then it would go down to 6min miles, and wasn’t consistent even though I was running consistent.  It ended up telling me my first mile was 7:33.  I haven’t done 7:30 pace since high school and I could tell that wasn’t even close.  I wasn’t out of breathe or tired.  The treadmill said I was only at .68miles at this point (although I don’t always believe the treadmill either…).  So I started to calculate my normal pace and combine that with the last time I ran four miles and figured it would be between 41 and 42mins, so I ran until then and calibrated the sensor to 4miles.  The treadmill said I was at 3:82 miles, so I think I’m close to being right, but I’m not sure.

Needless to say, I was a little frustrated coming off that run.  So fellow runners, has anyone had a problem like this with your running trackers?  What did you do?

That ended my scheduled runs for the week, but I did go out and run today.  I did a quick run outside.  Just under two miles.  I kept a 10:30 pace which is pretty normal for me these days, so I’m happy with it.  Now to enjoy this beautiful day at the pool!

Leave a Reply

