End of the Year Summary

Wow…today is the last day of 2012. This was the first year that I was back in the swing of working out, so I think it’s a good time to recap and summarize. In my last post a mentioned a few highlights, but I’m going to mention them again (in more detail).

My New Year’s Goal for 2012 was to run a half marathon, so of course, in January I decided I had to start running just to get ready to start training. Kind of funny…training to train.

5K Summary:
I started this blog at the end of January 2012 and at that point I was running a 5K in 40mins. Looking back on that…it seems so slow. By April 2012 I had shaved 10mins off my 5K time. Since April my 5K time has stayed around 30-32mins, which I am happy about. I also ran four 5K races during 2012, including my very first race: The Tangled Royal Family 5K. The others included The Defeating Duchenne 5K the day before I graduated, the Detroit River Days Festival 5K that I ran with Mert, and The Color Run in Cincinnati with Cameron.

I’d have to say, 2012 was a good year for 5Ks. Wasn’t expecting to do so many with my half marathon goal in mind.

Half Marathon RunningHalf Marathon Summary:
So if you’ve been following my blog all year, you’ll know I didn’t stick to my training schedule. I’m amazed I was able to finish my half marathon as quickly as I did when I didn’t train as I should have. Even with the awful training, I was able to complete the Wine and Dine Half Marathon in 2:34:43. So happy! My goal was to complete it in 2:45, so finishing under that was fantastic. Although, after finishing it, the last thing I ever wanted to do was run a half marathon again. I still don’t have the desire to run it again, but I did say I wanted to do the Coast to Coast Challenge, so I guess I’ll have to run it again. Well, two more times. This time I’ll train better. After all, I have until 2014.

Running Stats
Fastest Mile: 8:23
Fastest km: 4:49
Fastest 5K: 29:51
Fastest 10K: 1:09:11
Fastest Half Marathon: 2:34:43
Furthest Run: 13.6 miles
Average Pace: 11:51 per mile
Total Runs Since 1/1/2012: 104
Total Distance Since 1/1/2012: 301.2 miles

So there it is for 2012. Not what I was expecting, but it was only my first year of training. The best is yet to come.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

