500 Words About Running

I got this idea from my brilliant roommate’s blog. She focusing on writing “500 perfect words” in each post. One of those post was about how she came to love running. Well, I still have a love-hate relationship with running, but I thought I’d challenge myself to write a 500 word post about how I began running. It’s not nearly as heartfelt as hers, but I’m going to share it anyway.

I remember dreading the mile in elementary school. Anytime we had to get tested on it, I wanted to stay home sick from school. I wasn’t as fast as the other kids and I always seemed to finish in 12 or 13 minutes. The worst part was, I never got faster. Now I realize that without practice I’ll never get faster but as a kid, I didn’t know that.

When I got to middle school, I started competitive figure skating and we had to do a lot of cross training. Running happened to be one of those things. Funny thing is, when I had to do the mile for school that year, I ran it in 8:43 (yes, I still remember the time) and I couldn’t believe it. Every time I had to do the mile for skating or school I ran it in a 7:30-9 minute pace. It was so exciting.

In high school we didn’t have to run the mile any more but I still continued running. I was at the point that I could run three miles in 20 minutes. I hadn’t done a 5K though so I can’t say that’s my fastest 5K time. Wish I could though.

When I got to college I was terrified that I would gain the “freshman fifteen” so I went to the gym three times a week and ran two miles every time. I was still skating too so I don’t know why I was so worried about it. What I needed to worry about was what was going to happen when I stopped skating.

Cameron and I after The Color Run. One of my 5Ks leading up to the half.
Cameron and I after The Color Run. One of my 5Ks leading up to the half.

When I finally gained the freshman fifteen it was my junior year of college. Hating that my senior year I decided to do something about that. I tried dieting a bit but I have a weakness for ice cream and cookies. So I bought some Nike’s and started running again. New Year’s came along and I decided my New Year’s Resolution was going to be to run a half marathon. I was going to start small with a 5K though. That’s when I ran the Tangled Royal Family 5K. At the time that was my fastest 5K. It has improved since. After that I wanted to continue to run races. Mainly because I wanted the t-shirts and medals. I ran three other 5K races before I finally geared up for the half marathon.

Just last November I achieved my goal and completed my New Year’s Resolution by running the Wine and Dine Half Marathon. Afterwards the last thing I wanted to do was run another half. But now I’m thinking I will.

One Comment Add yours

  1. mlavens says:

    Sorry if the link didn’t work before. It should now.

Leave a Reply

