Riverside Park 5K

This morning my roommate and I went up to Manhattan Valley (by the Upper West Side) to run the NYCRUNS Riverside Park 5K. She’s currently training for her second half marathon and as part of that training she needed to run a 5K this weekend, so I decided to do it with her.

We headed up to the park this morning in the very chilly weather. It was only 36 degrees out. I’m a princess and I don’t like to run in the cold, so this was not what I wanted to do. We tried to stay warm and keep our legs moving before the race. Then we moved on to the starting line.

Riverside Park 5KWe were up near the front which I don’t always like because all the really fast people pass me and I feel like I’m in their way, but my roommate had a goal of 24 minutes, so I knew she wanted to get going. She took off and for the first tenth of a mile or so I was close to her pace when I finally told myself to stop it! I knew there was no way I could keep up with her, so I slowed down to what I was comfortable with. Then came the giant hill.

Now, before we started this race, they said this wasn’t a very hilly course. I beg to differ. I felt like I was going up and down hills the whole time. Nothing compared to the huge hill I came to first. I immediately had to walk after running up it. It was steep and a slow at the same time. The only good thing about it was I knew when I came back along the course I’d get to go downhill.

My first mile was my fastest, so that made me feel good. I was surprised that it was 9:35 because I’ve barely been running these past couple of months. I figured I was in for the worst with this race. Not the case. The second mile took a little longer and was probably my slowest. And just as I passed the second mile marker, I could see my roommate finishing. She did it in 22 mins. A whole two minutes faster than her goal! I finished in 31:47 which I was really happy with. My fastest race has been 31:07, so this was pretty damn close.

It was a good race and I’m glad we did it. It’s times like this that I remember why I like to run and that I enjoy doing it. It’s when I’m not racing and having to train I have a hard time dragging my butt to the gym. It’s always a battle.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

