Belly Dancing

on

Back in my Zumba post I mentioned I bought a Groupon for FunFitNYC. They offer more than just Zumba classes, they also have belly dancing. I’m currently on Spring Break from NYU right now, so because I didn’t have class tonight I decide to try belly dancing. I loved it. I want to go back again. It was so much fun. I’m disappointed I won’t be able to go again until May when the semester is over…

Belly Dancing Hip ScarfEven though I know I won’t be able to make another belly dancing class until May, I’m already looking at belly dancing hip scarfs. I was so jealous of the people that had them in class. I loved the jingling noise they may when we did all the hip movements. Before I take my next class, I have to invest in one of these. I’ve already been searching Amazon, Poshmark, and eBay. Am I crazy?

I would highly recommend going to a belly dancing class if you have the chance. It was a much different style of dance then I’m used to. We even did a bit of choreography, which our instructor said she doesn’t normally do with a class of beginners. Personally, I liked the choreography but that’s probably because I’m a skater and dancer and I’m used to that kind of stuff. Other people just learning probably wanted a more basic lesson. I say bring on the dancing!

This was a good work out for the arms and abs. The impact was low-cardio. I didn’t walk out in a pool of sweat like with Zumba, but I felt like I had gotten a good workout in. I’m seriously counting down the days until I’ll be able to make another class.

Leave a Reply

