Supporting Boston

on

All week I’ve been trying to figure out what to write for this post. As a runner it pulled on my heartstrings a bit. In fact, my first thought when I heard the news was, “I’d be so pissed if I ran 26.2 miles and that happened” followed by, “I can’t believe that just happened.” Those thoughts probably should have been reversed, but what can I say? I’m a runner at heart.

In the following days I felt the need to post something. Something about this isn’t going to stop me from running and that the people behind this didn’t win. They’re only going to make us band together as a nation and be stronger. Boston Strong.

I also thought back to the races I’ve done and how along the path people are always cheering you on, how almost everyone has bags of some sort, and how this could have happened anywhere at any race. Again, it’s not going to keep me from running a race. I’m not going to live in fear.

This incident did make me want to give back. I’m not allowed to give blood due to health reasons, so I knew that was out of the question, but then I saw a tweet from NYCRUNS. They are hosting a virtual 5K with the registration fee going to The One Fund Boston. Anytime between now and 2:50pm on Monday you run a 5K and record your time. On Tuesday NYCRUNS will ask you to record your time, and here’s the cool part. They’ll randomly select winners to receive free NYCRUNS races for the rest of the year. I thought it was perfect. I’d be giving to a good cause, doing something I love, and could possible win a free race. I’m planning on going my 5K tomorrow. Wish me luck, but most importantly, keep Boston in your thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

