Boot Camp

on

My boss at work goes to a boot camp fitness a couple blocks over from the office and he’s always trying to get the rest of us to go with him. My one co-worker, G, went with him one week, but she’s the only one that’s been brave enough to go. Today…Amanda and I tried it out.

Two Things: Great workout; insanely hard. We started with weights and bands doing all these different kinds of curls and presses. I usually avoid weights and stuff like that because I really dislike it. That’s my I do Pilates. I get the strength training without the weight. But it really wasn’t as bad as I expected. I guess I can start adding weight training into my work out. Although, I may rethink that statement tomorrow when the soreness kicks in.

After being on the floor doing all the arms and abs stuff, we moved to the treadmill. I was excited for the treadmill because I run, how bad could it be? Yeah…here’s the thing, I’m a distance runner and this focused on speed. Our jogging speed was supposed to be 5.5-6.5mph and that’s my normal running speed. Right there I knew this was going to be tough. I never made it past 7.7mph for the sprints because even at that I thought I was going to die. I can run 13.1 miles in 2:34:43, but those speed intervals nearly killed me. Barry’s Bootcamp kicked my ass.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

