Mackinac Bridge Walk

Labor Day is the only day of the year that people can walk across the Mackinac Bridge (for those of you that are not from Michigan, it’s pronounced “Mackinaw”). This year I got to take the five mile journey from Michigan’s upper peninsula to the lower peninsula.

It was a freezing cold Michigan morning, overcast with a chance of showers, but I didn’t care. I wanted to walk the bridge. My dad brought along ponchos in case it rained and we were layered in clothing. Once we started the walk, I warmed up. My mom and I took off walking really fast (even jogging at one point) to warm up. We ditched my dad and boyfriend (they were too slow, lol).

We finished in a hour, grabbed some breakfast, and got back in the car to head back to the Detroit area. It may not be an actual “race” but it sure felt like one when it came to getting there so early and the whole atmosphere of it. Plus, I got a certificate saying I crossed it, so that’s pretty cool too.Screen shot 2013-09-04 at 1.43.35 PM

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

