10 Miler Training: Weeks 13 & 14

Unlucky 13, right? You can say that again. Week 13 turned out to be nothing more than a big disappointment. But what’s new? No other week has been good either.

Monday I arrive back from Florida. We took the first flight out and went directly to work. When I finally got home that evening, I collapsed on the couch, watched an hour of TV, took a hot shower and crawled into bed. No way did I have the energy to fit in a run. On Tuesday, I had every intention of going for a run. I just didn’t. It’s horrible of me to do so, but I just couldn’t motivated myself to do it. This attitude of mine has to change fast or I’m screwed when the 10-Miler comes around. Wednesday I thought I might be able to make up the run from yesterday, but after a 5 course dinner meeting and getting home at 10pm, that never happened either. I always seem to have an excuse, don’t I? Thursday was a lot like Tuesday…every intention, didn’t happen.

On Friday I came home for Labor Day weekend. I took an early flight out, then went I got my hair and nails done because I had a wedding on Saturday. I also took my cousins out to dinner for their 9th birthday, since I missed their party. They ended up spending the night, so with them around in the morning and out trip to the mall, I didn’t run. Sunday we went up north, so I spent majority of the day in the car.

Monday was the 5 mile Mackinac Bridge Walk and I did that. Since it’s meant to be a walk, that’s what I did for most of it. My mom and I did pick up the pace to a jog every so often. I don’t exactly count it as a run, but it’s better than what I’ve been doing with training.

So now we’re on to Week 14 of 18. One month to go. The Mackinac Bridge Walk was a good start at opening the door for training again.

I continued with a workout on Thursday. I went downstairs to the gym for a run, and for a while we only had one working treadmill. Of course, someone was on that treadmill. So I decided to use the elliptical. I don’t know why…I hate the elliptical and against what everyone says, it hurts my knees. After 15mins of that I switched out to ab workout. During my ab work, the guy got off the treadmill. I did some more abs so it didn’t seem like I was just waiting for him to leave. When I did go over to the treadmill for my run, I discovered the second treadmill had been fixed and I could have been running the whole time. Just my luck!

I only did 15mins on the treadmill because I had worn myself out a bit from the other exercises I was doing, but at least I went and got it in.

On Friday I did some weight training on my arms. They’re super weak mainly because I hate doing upper body work. I know I need to though, so I’m trying to work on it more. I also did some Zumba choreography.

Here’s where trouble came into the picture. Last night I was walking home, and my heel got caught in a hole on the sidewalk. Of course, I rolled my ankle and have spent majority of today with my foot elevated. The good news is it’s not really swollen, so I’m hoping that means it’s not broken. Yes, that thought has crossed my mind.

I’m terrified to find out what I did to my ankle. If it is broken, I’ll probably break down crying in the doctor’s office like I did last time. In my defense, I was 13 years old and it was the middle of competition season. I did not want to miss skating. And of course, this time I don’t want to miss the Tower of Terror 10-Miler.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mleanne84 says:

    What a rough week! I remember when I was training for my first marathon, I had weeks like this too and then reality set in when I had like 6 weeks to go and had yet to do a 20 mile run. Needless to say, the marathon did NOT go as planned and I learned my lesson the next time around. Sometimes life and other things just get in the wayand I get that.

    1. mlavens says:

      Yes, it has been rough and it’s about to continue. I went to the doctor today about my ankle. Luckily it’s not broken, but it is sprained and I can’t run for two weeks. Still going to do the race even though I know it won’t go as planned. Might be walking more than running. At least I’m doing it, right?

Leave a Reply

