Not Broken, But No Running

Today I caved and went to get x-rays done on my ankle after rolling it Friday night. I didn’t want to at all because I was terrified of finding out what I did. The last time I rolled my ankle I broke it. It Screen shot 2013-09-08 at 1.37.27 PMdidn’t feel broken. I continued to run on it, I went to school, and I babysat that night chasing the kids around the house. My mother forced me to go and it was broken in two places. I argued with the doctor for a good 10mins about how he wasn’t putting me in a cast because it was the middle of competition season and I needed to skate. Needless to say, he won that argument. I was afraid today would result in the same verdict.

Luckily it didn’t. It’s just a sprain. I’ve been told to stay off of it as much as possible and no running for two weeks. That puts a damper in training, but it means I can still go to Disney for the 10-Miler. I can guarantee I won’t finish it as fast as I’d like to and it’s not going to be the best race, but I’m still doing it. I’ve come this far, I’m not backing down.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. now you have an excuse to take rest and take things slowly…

Leave a Reply

