10 Miler Training: Weeks 15-17

As mentioned before, I sprained my ankle so I haven’t been running. That’s why I haven’t bothered with the recaps. There hasn’t been much to recap. I’ve been resting my ankle and avoiding running. As I entered the 18th and final week of training, I figured it was a good time to recap the past few weeks.

Week 15: Was confined to the couch and my bed watching movies. Honestly, it was nice to relax but by the end of the week I was stir crazy and had to get out of the house.

Week 16: I spent my week doing homework in Starbucks because I couldn’t stand being in the apartment. It also gave me a chance to do some minor walking on my ankle. That Saturday I went to a fundraiser for Tay-Bandz put on by Central Sweat. I went to volunteer and help the event run smoothly. I planned on participating in one of the workout sessions, but after seeing what Polly was putting people through, I knew she’d have to modify too much for me to protect my ankle so I decided against it. That meant another week without a real workout.

Week 17: This week I planned on running again. I wanted to do a short 30min run just to test my ankle. I must have let fear rule me because I never got up the courage to do it. On Saturday I participated in the Walk to Stop Diabetes so I got a 5K in. It was only a walk, not a run so slightly different than training. I did manage to jog at one point and my ankle felt fine. Obviously I didn’t run long or far, but it does make me feel more confident for the final week of training all leading up to the race on Saturday.

I want to wait and put the most strain on my ankle during the race. That sounds horrible when I write it – that I’m going to put strain on my ankle. I know it’s not in the perfect condition to race, but it is feeling better and I’ve come too far to stop now. Even if I have to have someone drag me across the finish line I’m going to do the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler.

This week I plan to do one 30min run before the race. I just want my ankle to get used to the strides and movement again. Wish me luck!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ahh how frustrating! Good luck with the run and the race! Looking forward to the recaps!

Leave a Reply

