Princess Half Training: Week 1

Seems like just yesterday I was writing about my 10-Miler training. Well now we’re on to the half marathon training. This week marked the first of the 18-week training program and it went really well. I actually got all three runs in.

I didn’t think it was going to go as well as it did. The first run was scheduled for Tuesday, but I had planned on doing it Monday. Monday came and went and I didn’t run. Mainly because I forgot. I ended up doing my first run on Tuesday like the training program suggested. It was a 30 minute run and I ran 2.71 miles at an 11:02 pace.

Halloween

Wednesday I had planned to do my second 30 minute run, but again, that didn’t happen. So I did it on Thursday instead. I actually only ran for 20 minutes instead of the scheduled 30 minutes. There are two reasons for that. One, I planned on doing my 3 mile run on Friday so I figured a little shorter would be better. I also had a meeting so I wanted to make sure I had time to shower and prepare for it, so 20 minutes made that task easier. In 20 minutes I went 1.89 miles at a 10:50 pace. It was also Halloween so I got this sweet award from Nike+.

Today completed the first week of training. The training program had it scheduled the 3 miles for Saturday, but on Saturday I have class and my dad is coming into town, so I knew I wouldn’t get it done on Saturday or even Sunday. Today was my best option. I kept a pace off 11 minutes per mile, which was consistent with my other runs this week. I’m so happy that I’m off to a good start. Let’s hope it continues this way next week.

Leave a Reply

