Sarasota Turkey Trot

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone! On Thanksgiving Day all across the U.S., cities have annual Turkey Trot 5K races. Today I did my first Turkey Trot in Sarasota, FL. And for Florida, it was chilly. It was only 45 degrees when the race started. I was excited to get running because I was so cold waiting around. It didn’t matter what I did to try and warm up, it was never enough.

unnamedI did the race with my mom and my cousin…but I ditched them. Since I’m training for the Princess Half I wanted to actually run this race full out. My official race time was 31:12, which I was super excited about. My goal was to finish in under 32mins, so mission accomplished! I started my app a little late from the start so my app said I did it in 31:06 coming out to a 9:53 pace. Again, super excited about it.

I also placed 53rd in my age division which is better than I normally do. Part of that could be because of the age demographic in Florida vs. New York, but hey…I’ll take it!

I grabbed some snacks and waited until my mom and cousin finished. They finished in under an hour, which is great for my cousin because the last 5K we did with him took almost an hour and a half to finish. He was so excited about it and the kids that did the Turkey Trot got a medal, so he was extremely excited. It’s all we’ve heard about this morning. He’s decided his next mission is to get an age division trophy. We’ll have to work hard to accomplish that goal because he’s not big into training. Hopefully he’s motivated to do it!

photoI figure Turkey Trot counts for my second 30min run of training this week. After all, it was just over 31mins…and it was a little bit better of a pace than I’ve been doing, so it works out. I may end up going for another run tomorrow, just because my cousin wants to try going faster. It will be a slow run for me, but better than doing nothing! We’ll see if he actually wants though.

In the mean time, I’m going to enjoy the rest of my Thanksgiving and the food! Honestly, that’s  my favorite part of Thanksgiving. Give me turkey, stuffing, and cranberry sauce and I’m set for the rest of the year! Plus, I burned 322 calories today, so I think that entitles me to an extra helping of stuffing.

Hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving. Enjoy the time with your families and don’t eat too much! Unless you did a race this morning too. Then I think you’ve earn an extra slice of pie.

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

