Princess Half Training: Week 5

During Week Four I only got two out of the three runs in. I honestly expected something like that to happen during Week 5 because I’m in Florida for Thanksgiving and I always have a harder time getting a run in when I’m traveling.

Determined to not repeat last week, I started with my first 30min run on Monday. I had planned on waiting until Tuesday, but the forecast called for rain, so Monday was a better option. Also, I hadn’t run since Thursday last week because of skipping my long run of the week, so by Monday, it was time for a run.

I ran 2.82 miles during the 30mins coming out to a 10:37 average pace. I was excited because it was a little warmer out than I normal run in so I didn’t expect to run as fast as I have been back in New York. Luckily it was overcast and there was a breeze so it didn’t feel as hot, but still…there’s a pretty big difference between 55 degrees and 74 degrees.

unnamed-1My next run didn’t come on Thursday — Thanksgiving — when I did the Sarasota Turkey Trot! This was my first time doing a Turkey Trot. My best friend does the one in Detroit every year, but I’ve never gone to do it. It honestly felt like I was running in Detroit because it was only 45 degrees out. Too cold for Florida!

I did end up running a great race though. My official race time was 31:12, which it’s a great pace and time for me. It’s a pretty common 5K time for me, so that’s good too. I’m just hoping to keep up with this as I continue through the rest of the half marathon training.

Today was the long run. This week it was a 6.5 mile run. I got up early so I could hit the pavement before it got too hot and sunny. Luckily it was overcast and windy this morning on Siesta Key, so it made for a great run!

I completed the 6.5 miles in 1:08:47 coming out to a 10:35 average pace. It was much better than I expected. I know I’ve been averaging that pace for a while now, but those runs have always been shorter. I was thinking with this one I was going to move back up to 11 min mile pace just because it was longer than I’ve been doing. So glad that didn’t happen and I remained consistent!

I also found three things on the Holiday-to-Holiday RunChat Scavenger Hunt list. RunChat is currently doing a holiday scavenger hunt consisting of ten things you have to find while running. Today I found inflatable holiday decorations, a snowman, and a porta-potty. Three down, seven more to go!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

