2013 Summary

Wow…it’s the last day of 2013. This my second year of running races and continuing my fitness. I’m not sure it was as great as last year, but it was great in it’s own way.

As I mentioned in my “Race Patterns” post, my New Year’s Goal for 2014 is to complete six races with at least two of them being long races (10-Miler or longer). I also want to complete Disney’s Coast to Coast Challenge so I guess I have two goals for 2014.

5K Summary:
My first 5K of 2013 was the same race as my first ever last year: The Royal Family 5K in Disney! I hardly count this as a race though because my (then) 8-year-old cousins ran it with me and the rest of the family, so it was very slow. I didn’t put my tracker on because I knew it would take forever and I didn’t want to screw up my average pace on there. I know it took over an hour, but that’s about it.

727099-1007-0021sThe second 5K of 2013 was my first race in New York City. I did the Riverside Park 5K with my roommate. It was chilly and I hadn’t trained for it. But despite that, I still finished in 31:47 which was just over my personal record, so that was pretty awesome.

The next 5K was at the start of summer on Memorial Day. I did the Ice Cream Social 5K with my co-worker and we finished in 31:36 which was an improvement from the one before. Again, it was great because I hadn’t been training. Oops!

The final 5K I did in 2013 was the Sarasota Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. This time I was in the process of training for the Princess Half (still am) so at least I had been running consistently. Again, my time improved to 31:12 (five seconds away from my PR). I was really excited at the time, but now that I look back at the races this year, it was pretty consistent. I figured it was a bigger improvement than it was just because I had been training. Regardless though, it was an improvement and I have to be happy with that!

10-Miler Summary:
737630-1007-0003s
This year I opted out of doing a half marathon and went for the 10-Miler instead. Well…it didn’t go as planned. A couple injuries and a lack of training meant I finished the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler in 2:30:22, which was almost my half marathon pace. I was a little discourage from that but I had to remind myself that I was injured and it wasn’t going to be a good race. I’m happy I finished it.

Running Stats:
Fastest Mile: 8:23
Fastest km: 4:49
Fastest 5K: 31:07
Fastest 10K: 1:09:11
Fastest 10-Miler: 2:30:22
Fastest Half Marathon: 2:34:43
Furthest Run: 13.6 miles
Average Pace: 11:39 per mile
Total Runs Since 1/1/2013: 46
Total Distance Since 1/1/2013: 140.63 miles

Some of these are really similar to last years stats…actually some are from last year. Didn’t have many personal records this year. One thing that is different from last year is the total number of runs. Last year I had over 100 runs. This year it was about half that. Need to step it up in 2014. That should happen since I’m planning on doing two half marathons.

Aside from running I also did some cross training. Most importantly, I became a licensed Zumba instructor. And super exciting news around that. Starting in 2014 I’ll be teaching my own classes with my own company, Hakuna MaZumba! Be sure to check us out if you’re in the New York area!

So that’s 2013. Looking back on it, it’s a bit better than I thought it was. I can’t wait for 2014 though. So many exciting things are planned. Enjoy these last few days of 2013 everyone. And Happy Almost New Year!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations. Here’s to 2014 and much success!

    1. mlavens says:

      Thanks! You too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

