Milestone: 500 Miles

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 11.31.03 AMThis morning’s run wasn’t as long as I planned on it to be, but it was long enough for me to reach 500 miles on Nike+ which I’m very happy about. In my 400 miles post, I mentioned I wanted to reach 500 miles before the Princess Half Marathon. In the words of How I Met Your Mother‘s Barney Stinson, “Challenge completed.”

Since the 400 miles I’ve gotten faster and logged longer runs. It took me a year to go from 300 miles to 400 miles. This time, it only took three months. I’m so excited about it. When I hit 400 miles I mentioned that having this goal in mind was going to help keep me on my training program. It sure did. I didn’t skip too many runs and even if I didn’t do exactly what the training program asked of me, I still went out for a run of some sort or tried to make up for it in another way.

So now my eyes are set on that 600 milestone. I have another race coming up in April, the Sharks Tooth 10K, so I’m thinking my goal will be to hit 600 miles by then. I’m a little unsure because it’s only two months or so and the longest run I’ll be doing is seven miles. That is, in the 10K training program. I still have my half marathon between now and then, which will help boost the milage. The only thing is, the training program does have me doing a lot of short runs. That’s my only saying grace.

I did calculate the miles out and I will be able to hit the 600 mile mark if I stay on the program. Guess that means I have the ability to do it, I just need to stick with it. Guess I have my motivation again! Or in the words of Barney Stinson, “Challenge accepted.”

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

