Striiv Pedometer Update

Back in November I mentioned I got a pedometer and I’ve been loving keeping track of my steps. That was until I moved. When I was a student and living in New York I was walking every where all the time. I had no problem hitting 10,000 steps a day. Just getting around the city did that for me. Now that I’m living in Florida and working at a desk job I’ve notice my step counts going down. Instead of walking to work, I drive. Instead of walking to the grocery store, I drive. My average steps have gone down at least 1,000 steps since December.

My personal best was in January the day I ran the 10-Miler. I ended up with 35,760 steps between the race and walking around town. Since then, I’ve been lucky if I hit 10,000 steps during work days. When I leave work at 5:30pm I usually have 2,000 or so steps. That’s with me taking the stairs instead of the elevator most days. And it seems like I should be able to get more than that in because I work in such a big building. It’s currently the second largest in Florida. But, I don’t because rarely am I walking the whole building. I don’t have to walk to where the monster trucks are house or where the costumes are. I really only have about three areas I need to go to and they’re all relatively close to each other.

The nights I get to the gym I usually leave with somewhere between 8,000-9,000 steps. Those nights I can usually get 10,000 or at least close to it because I will walk in circles around the condo until I’ve reached my goal. Here the thing though, I don’t want to go to the gym and run every day. My body needs some rest from time to time. I try to work out 5 days a week (that’s currently not happening, but it is my goal). Even if I work out though, it doesn’t guarantee steps. If I do something like Pilates, I don’t get steps for that. It’s been the weekends with long runs have been a blessing because at least I get the 10,000 steps in there. More actually, and that’s what keeps my average above 10,000. Being back in New York over the weekend helped that too. As previous mentioned, I walk a whole lot more in the city than Florida.

Overall I’ve seemed to have lost motivation. Before when I would get close I’d start doing laps around the house to get the remaining steps. Now when I come home, all I want to do is relax and watch some TV. Occasionally I walk around to hit the next thousand, but it’s not to the extent I did before. One thing is for sure, I have to start getting active with my steps again. Being in NYC over the weekend and hitting the 10,000 each day has helped put me back on that path. I’m hoping the Sharks Tooth 10K training gets me further down that road. The training program has me running a lot more than the half did – more, not longer – so that should help we keep my average above 10,000. If it doesn’t, I’m really gonna have to find a way to move more during the day.

Leave a Reply

