Review: Collagen Sport Ultimate Recovery & A Giveaway!

The great people at NeoCell gave me a jar of the Collagen Sport Ultimate Recovery dietary supplement powder to try out while training for my half marathon. I was so excited when it came in the mail I wanted to try it right away. I hadn’t gone for a run or done any type of a work out, so I decided not to dive in and use it right away. It was best left until the morning. According to NeoCell, you can add one scoop of powder to a 6-8oz glass of water or smoothie in the morning or within 45 minutes of a workout.

Since I was so eager to try it out, I figured I would try it out in the morning and see how the day went. Although there are directions, I was not very good at following them. For some reason I thought it was a good idea to put the powder in first then add water. Yeah, that was not a good idea. The powder became like sand when it got wet and I ended up having to switch everything to a larger cup to mix it. The product says it’s designed to easily dissolve in water. I don’t know if it was because I was stupid and didn’t mix it correctly or if it was something with the powder, but I could not get  it to dissolve nicely. I’m going to guess it was because it was like sand and that made it harder. In water, it was not the best. Again, this could go back to how I mixed it, but it was a weird flavoring. Maybe with the chocolate flavored one it’s better, but the vanilla tasted very watered down. I decided that it would probably be better in a smoothie and that’s what my plan was for the next time I used it.

It was much better with the smoothie compared to the water. And on top of that, the powder didn’t clump like when I mixed it wrong. It dissolved much better when blended into the smoothie. I added it to my strawberry-banana-apple smoothie. It didn’t do much to the taste of the smoothie, but there was a weird after taste that didn’t taste much like vanilla or fruit. It’s not a terrible after taste, just…weird.

I continued to add it to my smoothie after my workouts for the rest of the week. After a week or two I started to notice less muscle soreness the following day and my joints that pop and crack all the time weren’t popping as much. Using Collagen Sport was the only change I had made to my diet and routine, so I’ve got to give it the credit. Plus, it’s full of vitamins and minerals, which I’m not good at taking to begin with so it gave me those without having to remember to take a multi-vitamin. One thing I’m disappointed about is that I forgot to bring it to Disney with me when I ran the Princess Half. I would have loved to see how my recovery went using this product after such a long race. I’m sure it would have helped big time with my knee. My right knee was a little sore after the race and didn’t feel great later in the day after driving home. That was the only pain I had though, and I’m sure Collagen Sport helped anyway since I had been using it for the past two weeks before the race. That had to help even if it was just a little bit.

There are a couple things I would like to see done differently with Collagen Sport Ultimate Recovery though. First, I’d like to see a wider variety of flavors. Since I had been adding it to my fruit smoothies, I would love to have a fruit flavored powder. I think that would help cut down on the weird after taste I was getting (I eventually got used to it). And second, I’d like to see a travel size option. Even if it was like a pack of four small bottles that were easy to pack and travel with. When I run a race I often travel somewhere to run it, so having a smaller size to take with me would be wonderful.

Overall, it’s a great product made from all natural ingredients. It has helped me feel better with my runs and is keeping my joints healthy. Not something that I’m having problem with at the age of 24, but I’m sure it will help me in the future and help keep me from developing joint problems. Even though I wasn’t a fan of the French vanilla flavor at the beginning, it did grow on me. There is also a chocolate version, so that might be better and I may try it when I need more.

To conclude, the great people at NeoCell want you to experience Collagen Sport Ultimate Recovery too! I will be holding a drawing to win a free jar of the Collagen Sport Ultimate Recovery dietary supplement powder. To enter the drawing, please fill out the form below. Entries must be received by Sunday, March 30th at 11:59pm EST with our lucky winner being announced on Monday, March 31st. Good luck! This contest is now closed. The form below is no longer active.

**Disclaimer: This product was given to me by NeoCell in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please read my disclosure policy.**
3 Comments Add yours

  1. mlavens says:

    Due to a computer error, the announcement came late. If you have not received an email from me, then you were not our lucky winner. Thanks to everyone that entered. Come back soon for another giveaway!

Leave a Reply

