Sharks Tooth 10K Training: Week 3

This was the first week that  I didn’t go into the program knowing I wasn’t going to follow it exactly. This week I planned on sticking to the program and getting in the runs and their full distance. It didn’t happen…at all.

The week started out well. I got my three mile run in on Sunday finishing it in 30:56 coming out to a 10:17 pace. What made this run great was I ran the whole thing without taking any walking breaks. That’s the first time I’m done that. I think that finally means I can run a 5K without stopping. After all, I was only .1 away from doing that today. This run also called for me to do the first two miles at a comfortable pace and the last mile faster. I felt like I was running faster at times during the let mile but then it would taper off. The third mile ended up being my fastest mile though, but only by a few seconds.

I skipped my second run of the week because my throat started bothering me at work and I didn’t feel good, so I decided it was better to go home and rest than run five miles. I made it to the gym on Tuesday for my scheduled for a three mile run. I’m working on starting slower and increasing my speed as I continue on right now since I tend to burn myself out early on. I ran the three miles in 33:03 which comes out to an 11 minute average pace. I also managed to increase my speed each mile. I shaved off 14 seconds from the first mile when I ran my second on and another 51 seconds from the second mile to the third. I’m making progress!

I also skipped my cross training day on Wednesday because I had an appointment, but I planned to make up for it on Thursday because I wanted to try the Body Works Plus Abs class at the gym. Around 3pm that day I had an awful stomach ache and wanted to go home and lay down. I made it through the work day but headed home and watched TV all night.

Today marked the last day of training for this week and I skipped my workout. I made plans with some friends from work and at the beginning of this week when we we made the plans I didn’t expect to skip all my runs/workouts this week. I’m planning on hitting the gym tomorrow more to make up for some of my slacking, but it’s not the same and knowing me, there’s a good chance it won’t happen. Here’s to a better week four!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sometimes it just doesn’t work out as planned. Time to forget about week 3, and move on to week 4. Here’s to hitting the gym and getting it done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

