A Sleep Experiment Revisited

Back in December I wrote a post about how I was going to work on becoming a morning person. Well that never happened. The holidays were not the time to try and start a consistent sleep schedule. With parties and events, there was no hope of doing to bed at a reasonable time and getting up at the same time every morning.

I kind of forgot about my sleep experiment until I started working last month and I had to be up everyday at the same time to go to work. The first week of work I woke up at 7:15am and managed not to hit the snooze button. On Saturday I didn’t set an alarm and I woke up on my own around 7:30am. Sunday that week I managed to sleep in until 8:15am. Then the week started again. I was going strong until about Wednesday when I hit the dreaded snooze button. The second time my alarm went off I felt groggy and tired and I remained that way the rest of the day. That’s when I realized, it really does matter that I go to bed on time and get up on time. Thursday and Friday that week I got up at 7:15am, no snooze button and I felt better. Amazing that it only took that little time shift.

My sleep schedule got a little messed up the weekend I went to New York in February. It was President’s Day weekend and I had a 7am flight which meant I had to be up early early. While I was in NYC I tried to stay on my schedule as much as possible. Even though I was visiting with friends and packing up more of my apartment I tried to not stay up past 11;30pm and I still woke up at 7:15am like I would for work. I probably should have tried to sleep in a little. I was tried from the flight so waking up early was not helping. I should have let myself sleep in until 8am. The extra 45 minutes probably would have helped me from feeling tired the week I got back.

It also didn’t help that once I got back from New York and started to get back on schedule, I turned around and went to Disney World for the Princess Half, which screwed up my sleep schedule again.

Now that those weekends have passed I’m back to my normal sleep schedule of going to bed no later than 11:30pm on weeknights and getting up at 7:15am for work days. I also don’t sleep in past 8am on the weekend so that I don’t get off my schedule too much. I’ve officially become a morning person. It’s kind of weird. I would have never thought I’d be able to make this change. I was always a night owl that loved to sleep in. I can’t believe I made this change!

Now lets see how it works with daylight savings…

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11900387/?claim=692dnf6tf9d”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

