Sharks Tooth 10K Training: Week 5

This was not a good training week. To start with, it’s a little different than the past few weeks anyways because I’m following a program given to me by a trainer instead of the Nike+ one. The Nike+ training program seemed way to intense for a 10K and I don’t really want to run five days a week. I like to mix it up. So this week I started with a spinning class. I didn’t enjoy it as much as my spinning class in college, but it was good to change the workout up. It’s always nice to go to a group class too. Sometimes I get too wrapped up in my own world and my own thoughts that it’s nice to workout with other people sometimes.

After Sunday, I ended up skipping my workouts on Monday and Tuesday – my bad. On Monday I felt really nauseous towards the end of the work day. There was no way I was running when I felt like I was going to be sick. Plus the weather was really bad in Florida that day. We had tons of rain and tornado warnings until late at night. The evening was best spent on the couch in front of the TV listening to the rain pounding the windows. Tuesday was also spent on the couch when I got home from the office. I was feeling better but I was extremely tired. I didn’t sleep well the night before because the wind and rain was so loud it kept waking me up.

On Wednesday I finally got back to the gym. I did the same interval training I did last week with the incline. It wasn’t as great as the first time I ran it, but I did get up to the 10% incline again. It just felt harder and my run at the end didn’t feel the best either. Never-the-less, I got out their and did it. That set me up for a great Thursday.

So the program I’m using from my trainer has me test my mile time every so often. I had some time to kill before my Zumba class so I decided to run a mile. I had to do it on the treadmill through because I was at the gym, so it wasn’t as good as the last time I tested it. Always better to do that test outside when you’re free to run any pace your body sees fit. The last time I did it I had a 9:47 mile time. This time it was 10:03. Not bad but I attribute the treadmill to the difference.

After that I went to Zumba and it was one of the best, if not the best, class I’ve ever taken. It was so much fun. I felt awesome leaving it and was so glad for the workout. Plus there was a lot of different music than I usually hear and we did some moves that aren’t the “go-to” moves in Zumba so it mixed it up a bit. Can’t wait to go again next week!

Yesterday was supposed to be a gym day again, but some family friends were in town and I met them for dinner after work, so that ruled out the gym for the day. I ended up skipping out on the gym today too. I planned to go but I got busy with things and it didn’t happen. I did walk on the beach though because it was a beautiful day and I couldn’t pass that up.

Leave a Reply

