FitBit Pedometer

Back in November I wrote about the Striiv Pedometer that I got. Well now I’ve switched to FitBit. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my Striiv and thought it was great, but I wanted a FitBit so it would sync with Pact. There are some unique benefits to FitBit that I didn’t get with Striiv that I’ve really enjoyed.

First, I love the sleep tracking feature. I thought I was getting a decent amount of sleep every night, but I’m not. And I’m a pretty restless sleeper. The only problem is, I don’t know how I’m supposed to fix it. It’s great to know that I’m only getting an average of 6:45 per night, but how am I supposed to fix that. Well, I know how to fix that; go to bed early. But how am I supposed to have a more restful night of sleep? That’s what I’d like it to tell me.

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 9.56.22 PMSecond, I’m a big fan of the weekly snapshot it sends me. As you can see from the picture on the right, it gives me an idea of what my past week has looked like. I like having an overall picture of what I’ve accomplished. I can’t wait to compare it from week to week and see how I’m doing. It’s exciting to get the email each week.

And finally, I love that it syncs with my iPhone. I peak at my app all day long to see how I’m doing. Not that I can’t look at the screen and see it, but it’s much handier having it on my phone.

On the other hand, there are a couple things I don’t like about it compared to my Striiv. The biggest is how the two count stairs. The FitBit does it by “floors climbed” and the Stiiv does each step of the stairs. I preferred that. I like know how many stairs I climbed vs. how many floors. Especially because I don’t know how many steps it considers a floor. I walk up two flights of stairs to work, but it doesn’t always count them that way. I would like to know that actual number of stairs instead of floors.

The other thing I liked about Striiv, that is completely unique to it is the game you get to play. I actually really enjoyed building my land and working up the coins and energy to make it bigger. It added something to it that makes you want to get your steps in. Obviously I knew I wasn’t going to get this with FitBit, but I didn’t realize I would miss it as much as I do.

Overall, both of these products have their perks and are great. I can’t say I prefer one over the other. And don’t worry, my Striiv didn’t go to waste. My dad is using it. He needs a little extra motivation to be active.

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

