Orange Theory

I have a co-worker that loves Orange Theory and had been going for a few months…when work didn’t keep us late. She told me a bit about it, but I always had the attitude that I could work out on my own. I started hearing more and more people talk about Orange Theory, so it was starting to spark my interest more. Well a couple weeks ago I was going to Plato’s Closet to sell some old clothes and next door was an Orange Theory. That was new.

c099f163f97489ae5dfacbcd261ff035They’re still in the process of building, but I thought I’d stop in and get the scoop. I understand what Orange Theory is, but it’s still hard of me to explain. I really like the idea of having my target heart rate show on a screen for me (and everyone else) to see so that I know I’m staying in the orange target zone for 12-20 minutes. I also love that I get my work out results sent to me within minutes of leaving. After talking with the owner of the new Orange Theory Fitness being built in Sarasota, I decided to give it a try. The gym is expected to be open in August, but they’re accepting members now at a discounted rate. I figured I might as well join at the discounted rate and see if it was something I’d like. It sounds a million times better than the personal training program at LA Fitness I tried out, and it’s a quarter of the price! I would much rather pay that. Plus, it kind of reminded me of the bootcamp workout I did when I was living in NYC. I really liked that, so why not give this a try.

Until they open, they’re offering free beach workouts on Siesta Key, which is perfect for me, because that’s where I live! My friend Sam and I tried it out yesterday and it was intense, crazy, fun, and sandy! We both weren’t really sure what we were getting ourselves into. We were both excited and nervous. Half way through she even turned to me and said, I don’t know how I feel about this. There were also times during the workout I kept thinking to myself, I’m gonna die, right here on the beach. But by the end of it, we were both pretty happy about it and were excited we finished!

It was a really good workout that hit every muscle group and pushed cardio. We did squats, lunges, planks, burpees, and so much more. We even went for a quick swim in the Gulf and then did some more ab work at the edge of the water. Funny story with that…Sam and I thought the getting in the water part was the end and just to cool off so we took our time getting to the water. We were totally wrong. Whoops! We also decided we need to dress differently the next time we come – meaning swimming apparel. Haha.

All in all, it was a great workout and I’m sure we’ll be back.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice write-up. I absolutely love this website.

    Continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

