Fighting the Urge to Quit

on

I recently came across an article in Shape called Eight Ways to Override the Urge to Quit. Since I’ve been off about my fitness lately, I figured I needed to read it. If you’re stuck in a rut like I am, then you need to read this too.

If the first paragraph I was already thinking, “yup; that’s me.” It said, “giving in to your desire to quit makes it easier to do so again the next time” and that is so true. I have gotten into a pattern where I just don’t workout like I should anymore. I’m not running like I should; I’m not lifting like I should; I’m not even going to classes I enjoy like I should. I fell off the wagon hard.

So I read on and here are the eight tips for fighting the urge to quit:

  1. Be in the moment
  2. Call each other names (only works if you train with a buddy)
  3. Talk positively
  4. Go for you goal
  5. Remember that downs lead to ups
  6. Be mentally ready for anything
  7. Pump up your playlist
  8. Know when it’s time to quit

Now I know these tips aren’t going to get me back on the treadmill or back in the gym, but they are going to be what keeps me going instead of giving up. I’ve been slacking on my training for weeks, maybe even months now and I know when I get back on the horse, I’m going to want to jump off the horse and quit because it will be hard getting into the flow again. I can’t do that. I need to remember these tips and power through. It’s the only way that I will continue to improve and stick with my workout. Now which one of these tips are you going to take to your next workout?

Leave a Reply

