Dumbo Double Dare Training: Week 16

After the past two weeks of slacking, I knew I needed to turn things around. On Monday, that’s what I did.

My week started off with a trip to the gym. I went to a different LA Fitness than I normally go to partly because I wanted to go to Old Navy and that’s near by. And partly because I wanted to change things up a bit. The run was hard. My lungs haven’t been worked like that recently, so it was a struggle. I managed to get through it though and felt great afterwards. I ran for 35 minutes at an average pace of 11:09 meaning I ran 3.13 miles. Even better than that was how I felt afterwards. I went shopping at Old Navy, went out to dinner at my favorite restaurant, and then came home where I laid out my clothes for the morning and packed my gym bag for the next day. It felt so nice to have a routine again. And to make matters better, I felt so good the next morning when I got up. I had to keep the pattern rolling.

Tuesday I was at the gym again. Another 30 minutes on the treadmill logged. I ran 2.73 miles in that amount of time, which comes out to 10:58 average pace. That’s 11 seconds fast than the day before! And it was back to back runs, which is what I wanted to focus on. I felt awesome! I planned to go to yoga afterwards, but there was a sub and I’ve taken her class before. It’s a lot more strength and being in the poses for a long amount of time, so I decided to skip it. It wasn’t going to be what I needed. I wanted to stretch more than tone after my run.

I took my first rest day on Wednesday. Partly because I figure it would be good to rest after two days of running and partly because I put heels on in the morning and got a sharp pain in my knee that unfortunately did not go away even when I put flats on. It happened on and off throughout the day which was not fun. I also ended up working late, so I wouldn’t have made it to the gym anyways…or at least not at an hour I would have liked to. That night I used my infrared light and put deep blue on my knee and on Thursday morning, it felt great.

So great in fact, I got up early and went to the gym before work. Not a typical thing for me since I’m not a morning person. I went to a yogabeat class, which I’m still trying to process and figure out how to describe it. LA Fitness describes it as, “a hypnotic fusion of yoga and dance performed to the rhythms of a multicultural beat.” It wasn’t really that though. There was some dance movements that I would describe more as tai-chi and there was more intense movements than traditional yoga, but the music was more pop oriented than multicultural. Like I said, still not sure how to describe it, but nevertheless, it was a good workout. I walked away nice and sweaty.

Yesterday I couldn’t believe how sore my obliques were. Yogabeat did a number on them. And actually I was kind of tired in general, but I still made it to the gym. After work I hopped on the treadmill to do a quick run. Originally I planned to do 5 miles since that’s what I was scheduled to do Saturday, but I was tired and not in the mindset to run that far, so I just did a quick 2 mile run. I finished it in 23:05, which comes out to an 11:33 average pace.

This morning I planned to do my long run. The schedule for this week had me down for 14 miles but I knew that wasn’t going to happen. I was hoping to do 10 miles. Well after a sleepless night and not getting out until almost 8:45am, I did not get that far. I only did a 5K and I seriously thought I was going to pass out from the heat. My body is not used to running in 90-degree weather. I walked the majority of it, which means my average pace was 13:28 coming out to a total time of 42:36. Yikes!

On the bright side, this is the first week I got all four runs in. They may not have been the schedule runs, but I went out and did four runs. And on another positive note, this week’s mileage is already higher than the entire mileage for the month a July. I’m finally getting back into my workout routine. Here’s to the next week!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

