Dumbo Double Dare Training: Week 17

Coming off a pretty decent week, I wanted to keep the momentum going. I started out on Monday with a short run. I had planned to do a 35-40 minute run, but my shoe was bothering my right foot, so I decided to stop after 20 minutes. My right knee was the one that hurt last week, so I figured it was best not to put any extra stress on that side. My 20 minute run was pretty good though. I ran a total of 1.79 miles coming out an 11:09 average pace.

Tuesday morning I was up bright and early for another Yogabeat class. I was going to a baseball game after work with some co-workers so I knew if I wanted to get a workout in, it would have to be in the morning. The Yogabeat class was pretty similar to last week’s. Not that I expected too much variation. I honestly still don’t know how to describe it, but I like it and I feel like I get a great workout from it. Plus, I feel so productive when I get to work and I’ve already gotten my workout in.

Same as last week, Wednesday was my day off. I’ve been trying to put myself on a schedule where I workout five days a week and of those five days, have two of them be in the morning before work so that I still have the majority of my evenings free or I don’t have to feel bad when I work late and don’t make it to the gym.

Keeping that schedule in mind, I went to the gym before work again on Thursday. Again, I went for the Yogabeat class. I’ve really come to enjoy it, even though I’m still not exactly sure what it is. I always feel better after going though, so that’s great for my body and the work day ahead of me.

Friday is where things get shaky. My mom is in town and so is her friend Pam. I decided to come home right after work so that we could go out to dinner or something. We ended up ordering Thai food and eating in, so I probably could have gone to the gym first for a quick run, but who knew at the time.

Because I didn’t go to the gym Friday, I knew I had to workout both yesterday and today to keep my goal of working out five days a week. It didn’t happen. Yesterday I spent the day picking out appliances and helping my mom with some of the stuff for the house she’s flipping. Then I went and got a massage to help release some of the tension and stress in my shoulders before the race next weekend. That meant a run or any kind of workout was not happening.

This morning I had planned to go to the Zumba class, but my shoulder was feeling good and loose and I didn’t want to put any added stress on it so I figured it was better to take today off as well.

With this upcoming week, I still plan to do my schedule of five days of workouts. Two of those are already in place with the race on Saturday and Sunday. Eek! I can’t believe it’s one week away!

Leave a Reply

