Mission Accomplished: Dumbo Double Dare

What an amazing weekend! To start with, I hadn’t been to Disneyland since I was a kid. I think the last time I was there was the year California Adventure opened and we didn’t get the chance to go there. This time we did and I loved it. Not to mention, it was great to go to Disneyland and go on the rides that aren’t in DisneyWorld. After a successful day in the parks, I geared up to run my first race of the weekend.

unnamedSaturday was the Disneyland 10K. I ended up getting the the corrals much earlier than I needed to. Perks of staying at the Disneyland Hotel, I guess. My plan was to take the 10K slow since I knew I had to run again the next day. That didn’t exactly happen. It was slower than I can do a 10K in, but not by much. My finishing time was 1:15:08, which was not far off from my Sharks Tooth 10K time. I think part of the reason my time was good was because I didn’t stop for character pictures. They all had really long lines, and I didn’t want to stop and wait. Especially because the characters I would have liked to stop for were on the second half of the course so by then I just wanted to finished. I did get a picture with the Paradise Pier Ferris Wheel though. Couldn’t go through a Disney race without snapping a picture.

After completing the 10K, I knew I needed to rest. Too bad I put on flip flops to walk down to the pool. I think those cause some pain on my knee. It was a little sore after the 10K, but after walking to the Grand Californian for breakfast and heading to the pool, I was in pain.

This caused for a not so great half marathon. I planned on doing it with my mom since I wasn’t going to be able to run like I normally would, but my knee made things go from bad to worse. Around mile seven or eight I couldn’t bare to run on it anymore. The rest of the race, my mom and I walked it. And the last mile I just wanted to sit down and cry. I couldn’t give in though. I was so close to my Dumbo medal there was no way I was stopping. I would have crawled across the finish line if that’s what I needed to do. Luckily I didn’t and I finished it in the up right position, it just took a long time. My finishing time was 3:23:27, about an hour slower than my PR. Didn’t care though; I crossed the finish line and got my Dumbo Double Dare medal and my Coast-to-Coast from completing the Princess Half earlier this year. I left this weekend with four awesome medals and one sore knee. On the plus side, I was able to get a massage at the spa before leaving, which totally helped. The plane ride back this morning was not so bad and I’m managing to walk around with minimal pain.

But now on to Wine & Dine Training!

unnamed-1

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

