Wine & Dine Training: Week 3

Since I had been lazy last weekend…specifically over the weekend, I knew I needed to start this week off on the right foot. Monday after work I hit the gym for my first short run of the week. My 30 minutes on the treadmill were great! I felt wonderful and was happy with my pace. I mentioned last week on my short runs I want to be under an 11:35 average pace based on my overall average pace on Nike+. I succeed in that too. I ran 2.68 miles in 30 minutes, which comes out to an 11:11 average pace. It was a good way to start the week.

I continued my healthy routine on Tuesday by waking up nice and early to attend Yogabeat. It had been a couple of weeks since I’d gone, so I decided to get back into it. The routine had been changed up a bit since the last time I went, which is good, but man was it hard. I could feel the soreness in my muscles after the first few songs we went though. And by the end, I was totally ready for Shavasana.

I planned to get up early for the second day in a row, this time to go for a run, but some rainy weather kept that from happening. That didn’t stop me from getting my workout in though. Just because I couldn’t do it in the morning, didn’t mean I couldn’t go after work. I hopped on the treadmill for 30 minutes and ran pretty much the same amount as I did on Monday. I ran 2.71 miles coming out to a 11:03 average pace. I practiced more of a fartlek strategy where I changed my pace every two minutes. It felt great and made the run go by faster. Before I knew it I was done!

I walked away from Wednesday’s workout feeling great. I was already doing better with my schedule this week than the past two weeks and on top of it, I was sleeping better than I had been in weeks. I knew I had to keep it up.

Thursday I planned to go to Zumba after work, but then some dinner plans came up. Normally that means I skip my workout, but since I knew this ahead of time I planned my day accordingly and went to yogabeat in the morning. That’s right, I made it to the gym four days in a row. Hot damn! I even packed up my Zumba stuff just in case my dinner plans fell through and I was able to go. They didn’t, but no big deal since I already worked out.

Although that’s where the streak ended. On Friday I planned to go for my four mile run that was scheduled for today but it didn’t happen. No big deal though. There’s always tomorrow to fit it in.

In other news, I did another sort of training today. Since I’m running the Wine and Dine Half Marathon, I need to brush up on my wining and dining. That meant I went to Epcot’s International Food and Wine Festival today. This was the first weekend of it, so what better way to spend my day.

IMG_4035

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

