Wine & Dine Training: Week 4

In last week’s recap I mentioned I always had Sunday to fit in my four mile run for that week. I figured I probably wouldn’t, but last Sunday I did. I went to the gym and did my four mile run in 43:10, which came out to an average pace of 10:47 per mile. That also meant I got my overall average pace on Nike+ down to 11:34 per mile. So this week, I had a goal of keeping my short runs under a 11:34 average pace. Especially because I knew this week called for an 11 mile run on Saturday, and I figured that would not be at the 11:34 pace. Unfortunately, I never made it to that long 11 mile run…I didn’t do a single run all week actually.

I took Monday off since I fit in my run on Sunday, but picked back up with my workouts on Tuesday. It was a yogabeat morning again. I really enjoy starting my days off with it. It’s a relaxing way to ease into the day, but it’s still a great workout. I’m really glad I decided to try it out because it’s certainly become a major part of my weekly workout routine and is a great form of cross training with my running.

Wednesday I planned to do my first run of the week, but my stomach didn’t feel all that great in the afternoon, so I came home ask work and relaxed. Friday was when I planned my second run of the week, but that didn’t happen either. It was raining buckets of water and even though I could have stopped at the gym on my way home, I didn’t because the weather was so gross I just wanted to get home as soon as possible.

I did make it to yogabeat again on Thursday at least. I think I need to start reevaluating when I work out. I’ve been able to make my morning workouts, but not my evening ones, which is completely opposite of what I’ve done in the past. However, I know myself and I know I can’t get up at 6:15 every morning for a workout. This weekend shows that…

On Saturday I needed to take my mom to the airport in the morning, so I did not have enough time to fit in the 11 mile run unless I got up at 5am, and that was never going to happen. I decided today would be the 11 mile day. Well it’s not. I went to see my friends band last night, so I did not get home until about midnight. I still set my alarm for 6:15am to get up and run, but I was so tired and it was so dark out, I couldn’t do it.

Now it’s a reasonable time of day, but being Florida, it’s hot and I know I won’t survive an 11 mile run. Plus my hair is pretty smoke filled from the show last night, so I wanted to wash it right away. And I’m not running after I already washed my hair, so that ruled out a run tonight.

Hoping next week is better!

Leave a Reply

