Review: Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Face & Body Stick

As you might have seen in my first video cast, I recently got a great product from Neutrogena called the Ultra Sheer Face & Body Stick. In honor of Neutrogena being a sponsor of today’s Nike Women’s Half, I decided to share my product review. I have to say this product is awesome. I used it on my run in the Florida sun and not only did it keep my skin from burning, it didn’t feel like I had some heavy product on.

Now, I live in Florida so I’m always in need of something to protect my skin from the sun year round. Regardless of where you live, it’s always important to use protection from the UVA and UVB rays. Even though we’re entering the fall and winter months the sun is still shining. And even on cloudy days, the UVA rays still break through so it’s essential to use sunscreen every time you head out for a run.

I’ve never been a fan of the lotion-type sunscreens and while I do love the sprays when I go to the beach, I feel like they make me sticky when I run. The Ultra Sheer Stick does not do that. It goes on smooth and easy and is absorbed by the skin almost instantly. While I was running I couldn’t even tell I had put the product on. There was no reaction when I was sweating, so I didn’t feel stick or gross…well I didn’t feel sticky and gross outside of the normal sweat making my sticky and gross. Plus, it was easy and fast to apply before the run, so that’s always nice. Because of the design, the application of the product is so easy! You just have to roll it across the exposed skin. It can be a little trickier when it comes to the face application just because of the size, but overall it’s still easy enough.

neutrogena-face-body-stick-sunscreen-spf70I really noticed how great the product was on my six mile run last week. Again, I didn’t even notice the product was on and it lasted the entire time. I didn’t feel like my skin was burning like I often do when I use other products. And when I came home I could tell I was protected. No pink skin to be seen and I was out for over an hour. Typically when I’m out in the Florida sun for an hour or so, I can certainly tell.

There are only two things I want to note about this product besides how awesome it is. The first is that it’s SPF 70. I shopped around online a bit for other SPF numbers, but SPF 70 was all I could find. That’s great for when I’m running, but if I ever used this product when I went to the beach or something like that, I’d want an SPF 30 option. I think it would be great to have others to pick from. That being said, Neutrogena does have other sunscreen products that do come in a variety of SPF values.

The second is both a good and bad thing. This product is waterproof…and I mean really waterproof. That’s absolutely awesome if you’re headed to the beach or pool and want all day protection, but when being used for a run it’s not the best thing. Sure, its great that it doesn’t come off while sweating, but it also took a lot of effort to wash the sunscreen off once I showered. After coming back from a run, I clearly needed a shower. I realized that while I was washing the sweat off of me I was still really slippery because of the sunscreen. I had to really wash to get it all off and feel clean.

These two things would not stop me from buying the product, but they are a good thing to note. If you’re looking for a new sunscreen to run with, this is certainly a product to try. And be sure to tweet using the hashtaag #NTGruninspired today to support the runners of the Nike Women’s Half!

**Disclaimer: This product was given to me by Neutrogena in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please read my disclosure policy.**
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

