Wine & Dine Training: Weeks 7 & 8

At the start of week seven I was still coughing up a lung. In addition, I was getting ready to head out on a business trip. I was optimistic about getting my workouts in, but realistically, it wasn’t going to happen. I just had so much planned during the week. I went to a hockey game, had dinner with a friend, then flew to Detroit and spent my days at the Palace of Auburn Hills for work. I don’t know why I thought I’d get my workouts in. I just didn’t have the time.

That brings me to week eight, this past week. I may have felt  better at the end of week seven, but being back in chilly Michigan caused some other type of cold to creep up. On Monday and Tuesday I was feeling crappy and was really busy at work, so that cut out exercise time. I started to feel better on Wednesday, but not even to go back to the gym. I considered going to yogabeat on Thursday morning, but decided it was better to sleep. And on Friday I had to wait for a call from Comcast (that never came), so that meant no gym time as well.

That brings me to today and I actually got a workout in. I went to my first OrangeTheory Fitness class. Wow, was it a crazy workout, but it was great. First off, I loved the treadmill section. I noticed myself running faster than I thought I could at times when we had to go “all out.” The weight training part was certainly a struggle though. I haven’t done anything in awhile and it showed. I was so ready to be done with that part. The rowers were a lot of fun though. I hadn’t really done that before, so it was fun to change it up.

The one downside was that my heart rate monitor knockout the last few minutes of the session and when it stopped working I only had six calories to go to reach 500, which meant I didn’t get to put my name on the wall. That was disappointing. Next time I guess! I’m signed up for another class on Monday, so hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of things. After all, it’s almost race week!

Leave a Reply

