Wine & Dine Half Marathon

Back in 2012 I ran the Wine and Dine Half Marathon and it was my very first half. This year I ran it again and it was a completely different experience. It was wet.

Yes, you heard me. It was wet…rained basically the entire time. And I can tell you right now, unless I have a challenge medal on the line, I’m not doing a race in the rain again. I’m not the only one that feels that way. Of the 14,000+ people that signed up for the Wine and Dine Half Marathon, only 11,941 finished. Some of those that didn’t finish didn’t even start the race because of the rain. There were a lot more that I heard saying, “I wouldn’t be doing this if I wasn’t getting my coast to coast medal.”

unnamed-2I was one of the crazy people that decided to do it because it was my boyfriend’s first half marathon and I didn’t want to ditch him. By the end of it we were soaked and cold. All I wanted to do was go back to the hotel, turn on the heat, and crawl into bed.

I have to say, it was fun from the standpoint we still got to see a lot of characters and I got to run it with my boyfriend. But, it was not as much fun as the first time I did it based on the weather. I don’t want to say the weather ruin the race, because that’s not true. I still managed to find ways to have fun, but I was so glad to be done and get my medal.

Again, this was not my fastest race. In fact, I think it was my slowest half to date…they just keep getting slower. This time I finished in 3:31:11. We stopped for a lot of pictures, but we walked a lot of it too. My knee hurt, his knee hurt, and there were some slippery spots so we played it safe and walked a good chunk of the second half of the race.

We planned to go to the Finish Line Party afterwards, but we were so cold and wet we didn’t. I was shivering I was so cold. I was so thankful that runDisney gave us those silver, heat blankets at the finish line. I was still cold, but it helped a bit. And I’m glad to say it’s done and over.

Now I have a week of easy, rest runs and then I’m on to training for the Sarasota Music Half. Hoping to train more and get a better time with this race. No characters to stop for, so that should improve my time slightly. Wish me luck on my next running adventure!

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

