Jingle Bell 5K

Last night I ran the Jingle Bell 5K to benefit the Arthritis Foundation. We formed a team at work, so I decided to join it. Plus, I needed to do a 3 mile run on Friday for my training program, so why not do a 5K?!

I really enjoyed this race. We started out in downtown Bradenton and went through a neighborhood and along the river. The path we ran was really nice and it was a beautiful night to run. It felt a little chilly at first, but once I was running, it was great.

unnamed-1The most exciting thing about this race was that I got a new personal record! The race was not chipped, but I used Nike+ to track my run and I completed the 5K in 30:38, which is a new record since I started running two years ago! So exciting!

The only time I stopped and walked during the race was when I went by the water station. I just needed a quick sip of water. Again, I can’t run and drink at the same time so I always have to walk through the water stations. Other than that, I ran the entire race. Because of that, I ended up with a new record. It also meant I average miles under 10 minutes. That part was even more exciting.

Aside from the race, the team had fun. We won 3rd place in fundraising and because we were one of the top teams, we got to spend some time in the VIP area with free food. We also dressed up silly. I had some awesome reindeer leggings and a sparkly skirt. We also got to meet some cool people like Anna, Elsa and Olaf, and the Chick-Fil-A cow.

All in all, it was a good night. And now I’m on to the next run!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

