Sarasota Music Half Training: Weeks 3 & 4

Week 3 was a wash.  I was traveling and even though I took my running stuff with me, I never made it to the gym. I was in meetings from 9am-6pm almost everyday, and then we would go out to dinner. After that I was tired and ready for bed. I just never seemed to fit it in. When I came back I planned to go to Orange Theory and get a longer run in, but that never happened. Week 3 just didn’t happen.

I was determined not to let Week 4 turn out the way Week 3 did. So on Sunday night, I started planning for the week. This was the plan:

  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: Orange Theory
  • Wednesday: Orange Theory
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: Jingle Bell 5K or Orange Theory
  • Saturday: 6 mile run
  • Sunday: Rest

I came home from work on Monday, fed the dogs, and went out for my run. It was dark, which I don’t always enjoy, but I did it. I actually ran a 5K, so .11 more than I needed to. It was a really good run too. I averaged a 10:35 pace, which is close to my race day pace. I think it’s because I had left the pups alone all day and didn’t want them to be alone all night as well. Made me run a little bit faster. I also used this run to get some items on the #RunChatHunt list. Overall, great run!

On Tuesday I went to Orange Theory as planned. I was feeling totally unmotivated that day and didn’t want to go, but I didn’t want to pay the fee for not showing up, so I went. I was glad I did because I felt really good about myself after being there. It was tough at times, but I pushed through it and felt accomplished when I left. I was glad I wasn’t a slacker.

I did not stick to the plan on Wednesday because I really needed to pick out a kitchen sink. They were coming to measure for the counter top on Thursday, so I needed to have the sink’s dimensions. I spent all of Wednesday night at the store looking for a sink. The good news was I found one. The bad news was I didn’t get a workout in.

Thursday was a rest day and it stayed as a rest day. I could have made up for the lack of working out on Wednesday, but it would have had to have been a morning workout since I went to the Tampa Bay Lightning game that evening.

On Friday I ended up doing the Jingle Bell 5K with work. You can check out the full recap, but the most important detail to note is that I got a new personal record for the 5K with a time of 30:38! That also brought my overall pace on Nike+ down to 11:35. Another exciting part!

Saturday I was scheduled for an eight mile run, but only planned on doing six since I haven’t done more than a 5K since the training program started. I didn’t end up running on Saturday. I hoped to make it up today, but that didn’t happen.

I really need to get those long runs in but I don’t want to beat myself up about it. Instead, I’m going to look at what I’ve accomplished. This week I ran more miles than my other training weeks. Just need to keep doing that!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

