Setting Goals for 2015

It’s the time of the year where people reflect on what they’ve accomplished and what they want to do for the next year. In other words, people are starting to come up with their New Year’s Resolutions. Every year I set a New Year Goal instead. In my opinion resolutions are too broad. People say, “I want to lose weight” or “I want to be healthier,” but they don’t do anything that marks the progress or success.

For example, in 2012 I wanted to lose weight. Instead of making that my New Year’s Resolution, I made a goal to run a half marathon by the end of the year. And because I had a set goal, I did it. So every year, I set a goal and try to accomplish it.

This year my goal was based on the type of runs I had been doing. My goal for 2015 is similar to that. I managed to run 10 races in 2014, so my goal for 2015 is to run 12 races. Basically I want to average a race per month. In Florida it’s hard to find summer races because it’s insanely hot outside, which is why I’m doing it based on a yearly total and not actually one per month. Plus, I already have two races scheduled in February.

I’m not making any requirements for the length of the races, I just want to do them. Basically all 12 races could be 5Ks and I would accomplish this goal. Granted, I know they won’t all be 5Ks, but it’s nice to know I don’t have to stress out and do long races if I don’t feel like it or don’t want to. I just want to keep running and races are what seem to keep me going.

So there’s my 2015 goal. What’s yours?

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

