Race Against the Clock: Frosty 5K

Yesterday I ran the Frosty 5K in Sarasota. It went well and I ended up finishing it in 33:18. It’s a little slower than last week’s 5K, but still right around my normal time for a 5K so I was happy with it. I was also happy because I started towards the front of the race and managed to get done quickly and get out of there, because I had a party to prep for.

Yes, that’s right. I was having a party that night and I ran a 5K to start my day. To make things even more interesting, I had my counter top installed that morning. Basically my day went: 5K, counter installation, cooking, party…I’m crazy. And the party was a success!

Now back to the race summary…

I wasn’t a big fan of the race course. We had to run through the grass a couple of times and I didn’t like that. I know it shouldn’t be a big deal, but I just didn’t enjoy that. It was kind of cool going through the neighborhood because there were some neat houses, but overall I wasn’t thrilled with the course.

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 9.35.55 PMI was thrilled with the medals though! Yes, we got medals for this 5K and they were awesome! Most 5Ks don’t hand out medals, so it was nice to get one and add it to my collection.

The other nice thing about this race was that it wasn’t very crowded. I never felt like people were stepping over each other. The roads were wide and the runners were respectful. That was really nice because not all races are like that.

I’m not sure if I’d jump up and run this race again. It was fine, but certainly wasn’t my favorite. I do plan on running the 22.4 Challenge with Active Suncoast.

The 22.4 Challenge is running all three races that Active Suncoast hosts. The Frosty 5K, the Suncoast Half Marathon, and the Sharks Tooth 10K. That will probably be on next year’s agenda depending on how the race season goes.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

