Sarasota Music Half Training: Weeks 7 & 8

After Week 6 I had pretty much accept Week 7 wasn’t going to be much better. The holidays were not good to me when it came to working out. I was traveling and getting my life back in order and because of that, I pushed fitness to the side. With the race coming up, I knew I needed to get back on track and log some serious miles.

The only time I got a workout in during Week 7 was on Sunday. I went to Orange Theory because I figured that was a good way to get back into the swing of things. Wow, did my shoulders and arms hurt the next day!

I took a quick rest day on Monday during the start of Week 8, mainly because I needed to help my mom move some things in the condo. I had to focus on that over a workout. On the bright side, I did start my No Cheats Needed six week challenge to a healthier, better me.

Tuesday I found myself back at OrangeTheory for another workout. I was frustrated with that one because I could not keep my heart rate up in the weight room. Luckily I made up for it on the treadmill with a tricky incline workout.

I didn’t stop there. On Wednesday I woke up early to go for a run. I was scheduled for a four mile run, but I only made it two miles. My legs were super tight from OrangeTheory the night before that I couldn’t keep up with the running. At least I made it out for a run. It’s been awhile since I’ve done that.

That’s where my workouts ended this week. I planned to do yoga at home on Thursday, but my mom and her friend came over and I made dinner. By the time they left, I was too tired to do anything else. On Friday I drove to Orlando so a workout didn’t happen. I wanted to go for a run or something on Saturday but I was exhausted from getting up early to cheer on my friend running the Walt Disney World Half Marathon. I did get over 23,000 steps in though. Because we were going from viewing area to viewing area during the race, I logged a lot of steps.

Today I was signed up for an OrangeTheory class, but I had to make a trip to the emergency vet with one of the dogs. Almost three hours later we were out, but it meant I missed my workout. I’m perfectly fine with missing a workout for the health of my dog though.

Even though Week 8 didn’t go entirely as planned, it was better than the weeks before, so I’ll take it. Hopefully that gives me some momentum moving forward.

Leave a Reply

