No Cheats Needed: My Progress

Last month I received a copy of No Cheats Needed and as 2015 started I decided to take on the challenge. Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been following Kevin Curry’s method to improve my lifestyle.

IMG_4455My journey to a better, healthier me started on January 5th and I took it easy. I just focused on my Daily Devotional that day to help get my mind prepared. The next day I added on a workout in addition to the Daily Devotional. I managed to do that on day three too. On my fourth day I skipped the workout and made my first meal from a recipe out of the book. I made the Avocado Chicken Pita and it was amazing! My mom and a friend of her’s came over for dinner and we were all talking about how good it was. And even better it was easy to make. I was so excited to take the leftovers to work the next day. Day five consisted of just the Daily Devotional. I had planned to start my morning with a run, but I was so tired the night before, I wanted the extra hour of sleep. That just meant that the sixth and seventh days needed to contain some type of workout.

The sixth day I walked over 23,000 steps, so I consider that enough of a workout. Unfortunately, I didn’t get my final workout in. I planned on it, but I had to take my dog to the ER and spent my whole day there. Cut into the workout, but I don’t even care because the health of my dog is more important. And because I was in the ER all day, I didn’t get a chance to cook my second recipe. The first week that start out so well, did not end as planned.

I had higher hopes for the second week, but it didn’t start out so well. I missed every Daily Devotional after the first one and I didn’t get my first workout in until Wednesday. There was a lot of stress with my dog’s surgery and a lot of care had to go in to having her home, so I didn’t cook, I didn’t workout, and I didn’t do anything.

I decided I needed to repeat the second week during week three, which still didn’t go as planned. Between the dog and trying to keep her from walking too much and my work schedule, I couldn’t find time to cook. I was able to get my physical activities in, but not the recipes. I’m really upset about that too because the recipes look awesome and I really want to try them. I think at this point, I need to hold off on this challenge though. Next week I’ll be in New York for work, so I know that’s going to compromise everything once again. As much as I want to get through these six weeks and build a better me, I know I need to take a step back and look at the overall picture. I don’t think I can make this commitment until end of February or the beginning of March. Look for me to begin this journey again then.

Leave a Reply

