Video: Sarasota Music Half Recap

Today I ran the Sarasota Music Half Marathon and it was much better than anticipated. I finished the race in 2:37:47, which was just three minutes from my personal record. I was shocked. I hadn’t trained at all for this race and I ended up doing much better than expected.

Aside from how unexpectedly good I did, I was also surprised at how I managed to get through the race without the characters in Disney. This was my first half marathon outside of the Disney Parks and I was a little worried about it. I always feel distracted in Disney because of the characters and entertainment. Part of what drew me to this race was the bands. I figured that would help keep me entertained.

The bands were a little more spaced out than I would have preferred because there were times it was too quiet and I was left alone with my thoughts. Other times I was totally rockin’ out and loving it. There were some really great bands. I enjoyed the variety too. That certainly helped keep me going.

I also had a couple friends come out to watch the race. I was so excited to see them! I think this is the first time I’ve actually had friends come out and cheer me on. Typically it’s my family or I’m running with my friends. It was nice to have a cheering section. That also helped me continue on.

Knowing there were Girl Scout Cookies at mile eight was a good motivation too. That Thin Mint tasted delicious! Some people were excited about the free beer at 12.5 miles, but at that point, I just wanted to finish. And I did. I got an awesome inaugural spinning medal and a huge sense of accomplishment.

Now…imagine what I can do if I actually train for a race!

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

