Pedal for Pups: Race and Run

Today’s race was amazing! With it being daylights savings, I had no idea if I’d have enough sleep, but I woke up feeling good. It helped that the race wasn’t until 9:15am. So I went through my morning routine of feeding the dogs, having a bite to eat, and getting dressed for the race.

For once, I went to a race with my mom and we were actually there early. We had time to figure out where to park, actually have time to park, and to explore the area. I was nice and relaxed.

unnamedWhen it came time to line up, I was near the front of the start line. There weren’t too many people at this race since it was primarily a bike race. There were a few bike races but only the one 4-mile race for runners. I started off and was going a little too fast for my typical pace. When I hit the first mile marker I was averaging about 9:30 per mile. I didn’t think I could keep up with that pace. I took a couple walking breaks, but I was keeping up with a pace pretty close to that. In the end I finished with a time of 38:24, which is amazing! I’ve done 5Ks in that amount of time, so being able to finish 4 miles in that amount of time was shocking to me.

What made it even better was the fact that I finish 3rd in my age division. I’ve never placed in an age division so I was super excited. Granted, it was a smaller race, so I didn’t have as many people to compete with, but it was still a big accomplishment for me. I even got an awesome medal. Since it was a race to benefit Nate’s Honor Animal Rescue, the medals were shaped like paw prints. It’s one of my favorite medals now.

So far 2015 has been a great year of races for me. I don’t have any more races on my schedule, but I’m sure I’ll be adding another one soon. After all, I’ve got to reach my goal of 12 races by the end of the year! But for now, I’m living off the high of this one.

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

