Review: Arctic Ease Cold Wraps

All athletes look for products to help with recovery. I know I do whether it’s with running, skating, Zumba, or any other activity I do. I was really excited to try the Arctic Ease Cold Wraps when they reached out to me. Not only is it any icy therapy, it’s also a compression wrap. It’s like two recovery tools in one!

unnamedThe first time I tried it was after a training run for the Enchanted 10K. When I opened it, I expected it to be slimy based on the way it looked. It wasn’t though. It was more like gel. It also took a little work to unwrap it, but once I did I put it around the knee that had been bothering me beginning with the Sarasota Music Half. I was really impressed by how cold it stayed and that the compression made it feel much better. And what I really liked about it was that it didn’t leave behind much of the wet, sticky mess.

After the first use, I followed the directions and rolled it back up, placed it in it’s case, and added some water so that it would be ready for the next time I needed it.

I was lucky enough to receive both sizes – the full size and joint size. I took the smaller one (joint size) with me to Disney for the 10K in case I wanted it after the race. My hip was more sore after the 10K than anything, and unfortunately, there really isn’t a way to wrap this on your hip. I ended up using it on my knee again. Although I didn’t have too much pain there, I figure it didn’t hurt to use it.

unnamed-1Most recently I used the Arctic Ease Cold Wrap because I did something very stupid at the gym. I jumped a little too high and lost my footing as I came down and I fell into a rack of weights. I started laughing and found it really funny at the time. However, my body did not find it funny that evening. My arm was so sore from hitting the weights and I had a huge bruise. If I had thought about it at the time, I would have put the wrap on when I got home. Unfortunately, I didn’t think of that. I used it once the pain set it and it did make it feel better, but I’m sure the effects would have been more beneficial if I had used it right away. Never the less, after a couple days of wrapping it at night, it started to feel better. I still have that huge bruise, but at least my arm isn’t sore.

So here are some things you’ll want to know about the Arctic Ease Cold Wrap. It stays cold for about two hours once applied. It does not require any clips to hold it in place. It bonds to itself…part of the reason I expected it to be sticky. The wrap is reusable and you can get six to eight uses out of it. It just needs to have some water added to it and will take a few hours to rehydrate and get cold.

So are you ready to try an alternative to ice therapy with the Arctic Ease Cold Wrap? If so you can purchase online or at any of these retail stores. I certainly recommend it if you’re in the market for a new recovery product.

*     *     *     *     *

**Disclaimer: This product was given to me by Arctic Ease Cold Wraps in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please read my disclosure policy.**

Leave a Reply

