101 Degrees – Too Hot for Yoga?

Today was my first day doing Bikram yoga. The class I went to was not a traditional Bikram class; it was a flow class but done in heat that resembles Bikram yoga. Traditional Bikram goes through 26 poses in 105 degree heat. The class I went to a Thavma Yoga was called Thavma Mix-Up Red, which is a flow class in 101 degree heat.

I was a little nervous to go because I didn’t want to pass out or throw up due to the heat. Aside from feeling a little light headed toward the end of the class, I survived. I was drenched in sweat, but survived. Marina, the instructor, certainly kicked our butts, but I felt great when I left. And honestly, when we got to the end of class, I didn’t even realize it had been an hour. It went much faster in my mind than a traditional yoga class. That surprised me, because I expected it to feel endless being so hot, but it was the exact opposite.

I have to figure out my schedule because I would like to go back again and try the traditional class. And if you’re in the Sarasota/Bradenton area, I recommend checking out Thavma Yoga. There’s even a GroupOn available if you’re on the fence about trying it.

Leave a Reply

